previous next

Kicking the Habit

Well, so far I've done it. Every time I've wanted a can of Coke, I've had water instead. I haven't had any Coke since Sunday night, which may not seem like a big deal to most of you but to me it's huge. I've gotten through two days of work without having a Coke at lunch and without any afternoon sluggishness. In fact, I am feeling great!

I'm going grocery shopping after work today, I think, and maybe I won't even buy any Coke at all. In fact, I almost certainly won't. This is insane. This is somehow even more exciting than when I quit smoking, probably because I was never more than a sporadic smoker, but I was (okay, am) genuinely addicted to soda. It's not as great as when I kicked speed, but still, this is good.

I am not, however, getting rid of computers or the Internet. That's just silly. This is how I live my life, and my life is okay.

Why all the self-affirmation all of a sudden? I'm not sure. Possibly because good things have been happening to me as of late. I'm just trying to figure it all out.

2:00 p.m. 2002-12-10 diaryland