previous next

This is where a belief in God would come in handy.

I almost died on Monday. I was walking to the parking lot from my office after work, keeping close to buildings and trees to shelter myself from the pouring rain, when all of a sudden I heard a loud crack, and then another. I stopped and squinted through the rain, trying to see where these strange sounds were coming from. It sounded like several skateboards were smacking into the concrete all at once, but who would be skateboarding in that kind of weather?

All of a sudden there was another loud crack and then a gigantic tree branch came crashing down right in front of me.

Had I not stopped to figure out where the sounds were coming from, that big piece of tree would have fallen on my head.

In mute horror, I turned around and walked the other way, into the rain. I'd rather be wet than dead.

This happens to me more than you might think. Just ask C. about that time we were in Vancouver and I came within inches of being hit by a bus.

I can't tell if I'm really unlucky, or really, really lucky.

5:57 p.m. 2002-12-18 diaryland